Veg growing for mental health?

I always feel good after I’ve spent some time in my little yard tending to my veg plants and ‘MacGyvering’ growing structures out of whatever I can get my hands on. I’m still a total growing noob with no solid idea about what I’m doing but just the faffing about aimlessly is still satisfying and a calming distraction from everyday city life. Does anyone else find the experience of veg growing a real mood lifter?

2 Likes

Oh yes totally agree, hands in the earth, head in the clouds, downtime.
:green_heart::seedling::green_heart:

2 Likes

This is a really interesting topic, thank you for starting it.

So do I! There is something relaxing and rejuvenating about handling soil, sowing seeds and watching plants grow.

One of my other reflections is that we are all looking for fulfilment in life. We do this in different ways - and there is a lot of pressure in modern society from marketing to achieve fulfilment by shopping. We will be happier if we have X, Y or Z.

I have found growing an excellent, longer lasting and more rewarding route to fulfilment than any shopping. And while I haven’t become totally immune to marketing, I definitely feel I am lot harder to seduce than I used to be!

1 Like

Oh absolutely - it’s so joyful to see things grow (and they are slightly lower maintenance than my kids :rofl:)

1 Like